Early day motion 1423

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that Mohamedou Ould Slahi has been detained in Guantanamo Bay since 2002 without being charged; condemns the torture he has received through Slahi's designation as one of two Special Projects personally approved by then Defence Secretary Donald Rumsfeld, which included beatings, extreme isolation, sleep deprivation; sexual molestation, frigid rooms, shackling in stress positions, and death threats; further notes that the former Chief Prosecutor in Guantanamo has stated that the US Government has no evidence that Mohamedou engaged in acts of hostility towards the United States; applauds Mohamedou for writing an award-winning 466-page handwritten manuscript about his time in Guantanamo Bay; highlights that Mohamedou has been granted a Periodic Review Board hearing in June which may clear him for release; and calls on the Government to make representations to the US government and US Defence Secretary Ash Carter calling for Mohamedou's release.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 15

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 15 out of 15

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 03.05.2016
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 05.05.2016
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 26.04.2016
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 09.05.2016
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 04.05.2016
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 11.05.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 04.05.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 09.05.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 26.04.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 09.05.2016
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 03.05.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 03.05.2016
McLaughlin, Anne Scottish National Party Glasgow North East 11.05.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 09.05.2016
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 28.04.2016