Early day motion 1376

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is deeply concerned by the Government's proposals to privatise HM Land Registry; notes that the Government launched the consultation document at 5pm on the last sitting day before the Easter Recess when the House had risen; is aware that previous plans to privatise HM Land Registry were abandoned in 2014 with over 90 per cent of consultation respondents opposed to the plans; is further concerned that the Government’s current plans are being driven by the Treasury and the demand to sell off assets with the short-term aim of cutting national debt; further notes that HM Land Registry is a self-­funding trading fund which brings in a surplus of over £100 million per year for the Treasury and currently performs well within the public sector with a 95 per cent customer satisfaction rating; believes that privatisation will risk public trust and confidence in HM Land Registry and will negatively impact the high level of service currently provided to homebuyers and conveyance firms; notes that privatisation puts over 3,500 jobs at risk; believes that only a publicly owned land registry can continue to deliver a quality, trusted, fair and impartial service; and calls on the Government to abandon plans for privatisation once more.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 54

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 54 out of 54

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 14.04.2016
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 27.04.2016
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 09.05.2016
Butler, Dawn Labour Party Brent Central 13.04.2016
Byrne, Liam Labour Party Birmingham Hodge Hill 13.04.2016
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 20.04.2016
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 21.04.2016
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 27.04.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 19.04.2016
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 27.04.2016
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 13.04.2016
Dromey, Jack Labour Party Birmingham Erdington 14.04.2016
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 18.04.2016
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 18.04.2016
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 20.04.2016
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 26.04.2016
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 14.04.2016
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 18.04.2016
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 20.04.2016
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 18.04.2016
Harris, Carolyn Labour Party Swansea East 13.04.2016
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 20.04.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.04.2016
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 18.04.2016
Johnson, Alan Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 03.05.2016
Jones, Gerald Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 13.04.2016
Jones, Graham Labour Party Hyndburn 21.04.2016
Jones, Kevan Labour Party North Durham 13.04.2016
Kinnock, Stephen Labour Party Aberavon 28.04.2016
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 25.04.2016
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 19.04.2016
Lucas, Ian Labour Party Wrexham 13.04.2016
Mahmood, Khalid Labour Party Birmingham Perry Barr 18.04.2016
Matheson, Chris Labour Party City of Chester 14.04.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 21.04.2016
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 25.04.2016
McLaughlin, Anne Scottish National Party Glasgow North East 11.05.2016
McMahon, Jim Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 14.04.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 25.04.2016
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 27.04.2016
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 25.04.2016
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 19.04.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 19.04.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 14.04.2016
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 14.04.2016
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 19.04.2016
Sherriff, Paula Labour Party Dewsbury 13.04.2016
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 18.04.2016
Smeeth, Ruth Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 27.04.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 14.04.2016
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 13.04.2016
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 25.04.2016
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 19.04.2016
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 20.04.2016