Early day motion 1372

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses disappointment at the decision of Stoke Gifford Parish Council to begin charging Parkrun for use of its parks, becoming the first in the world to do so, effectively destroying the central ethos of Parkrun; notes that Parkrun is an organisation which provides a free, timed five kilometres event in public parks and on public paths with the help of volunteers at 850 locations in 12 countries around the world; further notes that in the UK there are 395 events on Saturday mornings attracting nearly one million runners, including people running with dogs and pushing prams; highlights the desperate need to attract those people into sport and exercise noting that many Parkrunners take this as a first step towards a healthier lifestyle; and calls on Stoke Gifford Parish Council to reconsider its shortsighted decision and that no other local authority will follow their example to begin charging for Parkrun events.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 22

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 22 out of 22

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 09.05.2016
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 13.04.2016
Bridgen, Andrew Conservative Party North West Leicestershire 20.04.2016
Cox, Jo Labour Party Batley and Spen 14.04.2016
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 18.04.2016
Davies, Mims Conservative Party Eastleigh 13.04.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 13.04.2016
Donaldson, Stuart Scottish National Party West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 19.04.2016
Duncan, Alan Conservative Party Rutland and Melton 25.04.2016
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 13.04.2016
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw 14.04.2016
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 18.04.2016
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 19.04.2016
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 13.04.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 13.04.2016
Matheson, Chris Labour Party City of Chester 13.04.2016
Morris, David Conservative Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 19.04.2016
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 13.04.2016
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 14.04.2016
Sherriff, Paula Labour Party Dewsbury 18.04.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 20.04.2016
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 27.04.2016