Early day motion 1206

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the renewed focus from the Government and the government of Malawi to renegotiate the double taxation treaty between the UK and Malawi, and the UK Financial Secretary to the Treasury's statement that the new treaty is close to conclusion; notes with concern that the existing treaty was signed in 1955 while Malawi was under colonial rule, and that analysis from ActionAid suggests that it limits tax revenue collection in Malawi; further notes that ActionAid's new report, Mistreated, finds that tax treaties signed by lower-income countries with OECD countries since 1970 are increasingly restricting the former's tax rights and reducing their ability to raise tax revenue; calls on the Government to demonstrate its global leadership on tax and international development issues by breaking this trend and offering a significantly fairer treaty to Malawi, which helps the government of Malawi to raise tax revenues to fight poverty; and further calls on the Government to ensure the negotiation process is transparent, involves the Department for International Development and other stakeholders concerned with poverty in Malawi, and allows for thorough parliamentary scrutiny and debate of any new treaty.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 53

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 53 out of 53

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 21.03.2016
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 07.03.2016
Arkless, Richard Scottish National Party Dumfries and Galloway 15.03.2016
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 14.03.2016
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 11.04.2016
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 08.03.2016
Blackman, Kirsty Scottish National Party Aberdeen North 16.03.2016
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 09.05.2016
Cameron, Lisa Scottish National Party East Kilbride Strathaven and Lesmahagow 09.03.2016
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 21.03.2016
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 09.03.2016
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 11.05.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 08.03.2016
Donaldson, Stuart Scottish National Party West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 10.03.2016
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 22.03.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 07.03.2016
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 08.03.2016
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw 14.03.2016
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 09.03.2016
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 17.03.2016
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 09.03.2016
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 14.03.2016
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 07.03.2016
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 07.03.2016
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 24.03.2016
Kerevan, George Scottish National Party East Lothian 23.03.2016
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 08.03.2016
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 07.03.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 09.03.2016
McCaig, Callum Scottish National Party Aberdeen South 10.03.2016
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 11.03.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 22.03.2016
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 16.03.2016
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 09.03.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 08.03.2016
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 15.03.2016
Mullin, Roger Scottish National Party Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath 08.03.2016
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 21.03.2016
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 10.03.2016
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 09.03.2016
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 07.03.2016
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 18.04.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 09.03.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 08.03.2016
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 14.03.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 10.03.2016
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 09.03.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 08.03.2016
Thomson, Michelle INDEPENDENT Edinburgh West 10.03.2016
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 08.03.2016
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 14.03.2016
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire 10.03.2016
Wilson, Corri Scottish National Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 24.03.2016