Early day motion 1156

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses its serious concern about the allegations in The Times Scotland on Thursday 18 February of dehumanising treatment, neglect and poor standards of accommodation for those seeking asylum in the UK who have been dispersed to Glasgow; notes that these allegations pertain to Orchard and Shipman in particular, who have been sub-contracted by Serco, itself under contract from the Home Office, to deliver the lifeline public service of housing for women, children and men, many of whom come from war-torn countries such as Syria, Afghanistan and Eritrea; emphasises that we must always remember these are resilient but also deeply vulnerable fellow women, men and children who may have lost everything precious to them and made perilous journeys to seek refuge here and find a secure home; recommends that the seriousness of the allegations in The Times Scotland merit the fullest independent investigation; considers that a full and comprehensive inquiry or review into the Compass asylum accommodation contracts across the UK is now required, particularly given recent allegations concerning performance of the Compass contracts in Middlesbrough and Cardiff; and believes that all local authorities and communities, and the devolved governments where applicable, must be fully involved in any Home Office decisions to widen asylum dispersal including who they are expected to contract and work with in the provision of accommodation to asylum seekers.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 34

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 34 out of 34

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 01.03.2016
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 02.03.2016
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 01.03.2016
Cameron, Lisa Scottish National Party East Kilbride Strathaven and Lesmahagow 01.03.2016
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 21.03.2016
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 01.03.2016
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 29.02.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 08.03.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 29.02.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 01.03.2016
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 29.02.2016
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 01.03.2016
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 03.03.2016
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 26.02.2016
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 09.03.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 29.02.2016
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 29.02.2016
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 25.02.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 23.03.2016
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 03.03.2016
McLaughlin, Anne Scottish National Party Glasgow North East 25.02.2016
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 29.02.2016
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 26.02.2016
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 01.03.2016
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 08.03.2016
Paterson, Steven Scottish National Party Stirling 29.02.2016
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 29.02.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 01.03.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 29.02.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 26.02.2016
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 25.02.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 01.03.2016
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 01.03.2016
Wilson, Corri Scottish National Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 09.03.2016