Early day motion 1132

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with regret the passing of Leith-born Captain Eric "Winkle" Brown, the world's most experienced pilot and the Royal Navy's most decorated aviator; celebrates his unique record in flying more different types of aeroplane than anyone else, some 487 in total, an achievement unlikely to be surpassed, and in making more individual carrier deck landings than any other pilot; pays homage to Captain Brown's selfless courage during World War II, when he became one of the few fighter pilots to shoot down a German Focke Wulf Condor in the mid-Atlantic while protecting Allied convoys, and was one of only two aircrew to survive the torpedoing of his carrier, HMS Audacity, in 1941; remembers the crucial part he played in tracking down and interrogating senior Nazis, including the camp commandant at Belsen; commends his record as an international test pilot, which included the first jet landing on a carrier; recognises the extraordinary contribution Captain Brown made to aviation, including serving as chief naval test pilot at the Royal Aircraft Establishment, serving as Deputy Director of Naval Air Warfare, and being elected President of the Royal Aeronautical Society; and calls for a permanent memorial to be erected to Captain Brown as one of aviation's greatest pioneers.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 19

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 19 out of 19

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 01.03.2016
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 01.03.2016
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 01.03.2016
Brock, Deidre Scottish National Party Edinburgh North and Leith 25.02.2016
Cameron, Lisa Scottish National Party East Kilbride Strathaven and Lesmahagow 01.03.2016
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 29.02.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 25.02.2016
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 03.03.2016
Kerevan, George Scottish National Party East Lothian 24.02.2016
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 25.02.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 29.02.2016
McLaughlin, Anne Scottish National Party Glasgow North East 11.05.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 01.03.2016
Mullin, Roger Scottish National Party Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath 01.03.2016
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 01.03.2016
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 08.03.2016
Paterson, Steven Scottish National Party Stirling 29.02.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 01.03.2016
Wilson, Corri Scottish National Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 09.03.2016