Early day motion 1025

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that public libraries are hugely important to our communities; acknowledges that many have already closed or are under threat; welcomes the Speak Up For Library lobby of Parliament in support of the public library service on 9 February 2016; and calls on the Government to ensure that councils have enough money to provide well-staffed quality services to enforce the law that says local authorities must provide a comprehensive and efficient library service, to implement policy which secures people’s statutory rights to a quality library service and to give libraries a long-term future by including a programme of library development and modernisation in the 2016 to 2020 Department for Culture, Media and Sport Business Plan.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 40

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 40 out of 40

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 08.02.2016
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 08.02.2016
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 27.01.2016
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 03.02.2016
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 14.03.2016
Cox, Jo Labour Party Batley and Spen 08.02.2016
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 27.04.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 02.02.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 28.01.2016
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 11.02.2016
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 09.05.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 28.01.2016
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 27.01.2016
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 09.02.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 27.01.2016
Hunt, Tristram Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 09.02.2016
Huq, Rupa Labour Party Ealing Central and Acton 13.04.2016
Jones, Graham Labour Party Hyndburn 09.02.2016
Kerevan, George Scottish National Party East Lothian 01.02.2016
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 11.02.2016
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 01.02.2016
Mahmood, Khalid Labour Party Birmingham Perry Barr 08.02.2016
McLaughlin, Anne Scottish National Party Glasgow North East 10.02.2016
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 27.01.2016
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 09.02.2016
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 09.02.2016
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 27.01.2016
Rayner, Angela Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 08.02.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 28.01.2016
Shah, Naseem Labour Party Bradford West 08.02.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 28.01.2016
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 03.02.2016
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 02.02.2016
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 28.01.2016
Spellar, John Labour Party Warley 10.03.2016
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 01.02.2016
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 28.01.2016
Twigg, Stephen Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 24.02.2016
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 09.02.2016
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 22.02.2016