Early day motion 1017

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned by the announcement that Johnston Press, which publishes titles including the Yorkshire Post, Yorkshire Evening Post, Lancashire Evening Post, The Scotsman and Derry Journal, is to cull almost 100 editorial posts; notes that this announcement comes just days after Newsquest announced that up to 25 journalist posts are to be axed across its Scottish titles; further notes that year-on-year cuts in jobs and closure of newspaper titles have resulted in the loss of 5,000 editorial roles in local and regional press, and the closure of more than 150 newspapers since March 2011; believes that local and regional news coverage is an essential feature of civic life and a healthy democracy; and therefore calls for active government intervention to prevent the destruction of these vital community assets and to establish a short, sharp inquiry to produce a coherent strategy for defending local journalism.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 60

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 60 out of 60

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 01.02.2016
Bellingham, Henry Conservative Party North West Norfolk 02.02.2016
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 28.01.2016
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 28.01.2016
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 01.02.2016
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 04.02.2016
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 27.01.2016
Brock, Deidre Scottish National Party Edinburgh North and Leith 09.02.2016
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 03.02.2016
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 29.01.2016
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 28.01.2016
Cox, Jo Labour Party Batley and Spen 03.02.2016
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 11.05.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 02.02.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 28.01.2016
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 11.02.2016
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 22.02.2016
Dugher, Michael Labour Party Barnsley East 23.02.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 27.01.2016
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 01.02.2016
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw 05.02.2016
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 02.02.2016
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 04.02.2016
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 01.02.2016
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 27.01.2016
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 28.01.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 27.01.2016
Kerevan, George Scottish National Party East Lothian 01.02.2016
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 03.02.2016
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 27.01.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 01.02.2016
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 08.02.2016
McLaughlin, Anne Scottish National Party Glasgow North East 10.02.2016
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 02.02.2016
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 01.02.2016
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 01.02.2016
Mullin, Roger Scottish National Party Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath 02.02.2016
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 28.01.2016
Paterson, Steven Scottish National Party Stirling 08.02.2016
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 02.02.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 02.02.2016
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 04.02.2016
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 05.02.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 27.01.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 28.01.2016
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 01.02.2016
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 01.02.2016
Sherriff, Paula Labour Party Dewsbury 10.02.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 27.01.2016
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 01.02.2016
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 02.02.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 10.02.2016
Thomson, Michelle INDEPENDENT Edinburgh West 01.02.2016
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 22.02.2016
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 01.02.2016
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 03.02.2016
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire 29.01.2016
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 03.02.2016
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 04.02.2016
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 01.02.2016