Early day motion 907

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the price of oil is 50 per cent below its recent trend price and is forecast to stay at its new lower level for a prolonged period; further notes that, while falls in the oil price represent pure profit for bus companies, bus fares increased by an average of 4.8 per cent across the UK between December 2013 and December 2014; understands that while some bus companies may have hedged their fuel costs on the basis of a higher oil price, that would only cover a portion of their fuel bill; believes that most bus companies' hedge period has expired since oil prices fell; recognises that bus companies are supported by taxpayer-funded grants which are devolved to local councils; and calls for an inquiry to determine whether the bus companies are profiteering from the fall in oil prices instead of passing on the benefit of the fall through reduced bus fares and improved services.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 29

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 29 out of 29

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 24.03.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 25.03.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.03.2015
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 23.03.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.03.2015
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 24.03.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 25.03.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 23.03.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 23.03.2015
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 24.03.2015
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 23.03.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 23.03.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 23.03.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 25.03.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 25.03.2015
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 24.03.2015
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 25.03.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 23.03.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 24.03.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 25.03.2015
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 23.03.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 23.03.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 25.03.2015
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 25.03.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 24.03.2015
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 23.03.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 24.03.2015
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 24.03.2015
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 23.03.2015