Early day motion 904

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House records its disappointment at five wasted years in which the Coalition Government has failed to reform the parliamentary abuses that continue to undermine the reputation of politics, such as cash for access to politicians and cash for peerages continuing unabated, 99 per cent of corporate lobbying untouched by legislation, the arbitrary unjust Honours system, further degraded with the creation of a new political honours committee dominated by whips, a complete failure to limit moonlighting by hon. Members in outside jobs and the revolving door to retirement riches uncontrolled by the Advisory Committee on Business Appointments, which remains a toothless watchdog without powers to police the prostitution of insider knowledge of departing hon. Members and civil servants; and calls on the next Government to bring in robust reforms that will rebuild Parliament's reputation for probity.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 13

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 13 out of 13

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 24.03.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 25.03.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.03.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 23.03.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 23.03.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 23.03.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 24.03.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 25.03.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 24.03.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 25.03.2015
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 25.03.2015
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 25.03.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 24.03.2015