Early day motion 902

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses its shock that Carmen Aristegui, one of Mexico's independent journalists, has been dismissed for her work in the MVS Noticias (news); notes that Ms Aristegui's four-hour daily programme is very popular and often exposes corruption and human rights abuses; further notes that the targeting of such journalists is wholly unacceptable and can only have a very negative impact on journalism and indeed on fundamental rights of free speech and freedom of expression in any democratic country, let alone one struggling to rebuild its reputation following recent negative publicity surrounding the deaths of 43 students; calls on the Government and the international community to raise their concerns about this case with the relevant authorities; congratulates Carmen Aristegui and her team for the excellent work they have done to date and over many years; and encourages them to continue with the excellent contribution they are making to an evolving democratic Mexico.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 19

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 19 out of 19

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 24.03.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 25.03.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 24.03.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 20.03.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 23.03.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 23.03.2015
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 24.03.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 24.03.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 23.03.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 23.03.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 25.03.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.03.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 24.03.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 20.03.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 24.03.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 25.03.2015
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 23.03.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 23.03.2015
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 25.03.2015