Early day motion 901

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the campaign to rename Leningrad Square in Wythenshawe after Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Questioning (LGBTQ) computer and Enigma code breaker, Alan Turing; notes that Manchester is currently twinned with St Petersburg, formerly Leningrad, the birthplace of Russia's appalling anti-gay laws which ban homosexual propaganda; further notes that Baby, the first modern computer, was born in Manchester thanks to Alan Turing's work at the University of Manchester; regrets that Turing was arrested by City of Manchester police in 1952 for homosexuality and was punished with chemical castration; further welcomes the posthumous Royal Pardon in 2013 and the campaign to achieve it; believes that Manchester's city leaders should stop honouring a city and country where LGBTQ people are so appallingly discriminated against; further regrets that too many LGBTQ people still suffer discrimination in the UK and abroad; recognises that renaming a landmark square after a gay Manchester hero would show solidarity to everyone fighting for equality in Manchester, Russia and around the world and that it would also help the fight to pardon the thousands of other gay men who were convicted of offences relating to their sexuality; and calls on Manchester City Council to back the campaign to rename the square in time for the 31 March anniversary of Alan Turing's conviction.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 17

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 17 out of 17

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 25.03.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 25.03.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 24.03.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 23.03.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 24.03.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 24.03.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 23.03.2015
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 24.03.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 23.03.2015
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 24.03.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 20.03.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 25.03.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.03.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 24.03.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 20.03.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 25.03.2015
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 25.03.2015