Early day motion 865

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is gravely concerned at evidence of the aggressive tax avoidance strategies pursued by global fast-food chain McDonald's over several years up to 2013; commends the work of the worldwide coalition of trade unions and global justice campaigns that resulted in the disclosure of these findings in the Unhappy Meals report; notes that the company has potentially cost up to £818.7 million to the UK Exchequer alone in tax by diverting franchise payments to McD Europe Franchising Sàrl, a Luxembourg-resident intellectual property holding company with a Swiss branch, then shifting McDonald's European headquarters from London to Geneva for the purposes of tax avoidance; understands that this was a direct response to a tax policy change in Luxembourg allowing companies to benefit from significant reductions of their tax rate on income earned from intellectual property; further notes that McDonald's and its franchisees, which openly employ much of their workforce on zero hours contracts, earned £2,335.5 million in sales in the UK; and therefore calls on the Government to ensure that such multinational corporations are obliged to pay their fair share of tax on profits generated from UK operations.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 25

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 25 out of 25

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 11.03.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 18.03.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 18.03.2015
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 11.03.2015
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 11.03.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 17.03.2015
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 11.03.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 17.03.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 17.03.2015
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 24.03.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 19.03.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 16.03.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 12.03.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 12.03.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 11.03.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 11.03.2015
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 18.03.2015
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 24.03.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 11.03.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.03.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 18.03.2015
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 12.03.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 11.03.2015
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 18.03.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 12.03.2015