Early day motion 854

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned about widespread reports of growing authoritarianism in Turkey, particularly illustrated by, but not restricted to, the state censorship and imprisonment of journalists in Turkey; notes the continued imprisonment since 14 December 2014 of Hidayet Karaca who is the chief executive of a Turkish television network of channels, and the arrest of 20 journalists in a series of dawn raids in Turkey in mid-December 2014, including Ekrem Dumanli, who is the editor-in-chief of Turkey's largest circulating newspaper and Sedef Kabas, who is a television presenter facing a prison sentence for posting a tweet about a corruption probe involving high-profile names, and most recently the arrest, charge and remand of investigative journalist Mehmet Baransu; welcomes the statement by the EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and the EU Commissioner for Enlargement Negotiations that the latest crackdown is against the European values and standards Turkey aspires to be part of; further notes the need for the Turkish authorities to remove travel bans imposed on journalists and to drop all criminal charges against them and release all other journalists behind bars in the country; and further calls on the Government to raise these and other concerns that give rise to a growing sense of authoritarianism in Turkey with their counterparts in Turkey.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 35

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 35 out of 35

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 12.03.2015
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 10.03.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 10.03.2015
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 11.03.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.03.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 18.03.2015
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 25.03.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 09.03.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 10.03.2015
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 24.03.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 17.03.2015
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 17.03.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 12.03.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 12.03.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.03.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 12.03.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 11.03.2015
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 18.03.2015
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 24.03.2015
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 16.03.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 23.03.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 12.03.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.03.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 11.03.2015
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 12.03.2015
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 18.03.2015
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 18.03.2015
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 25.03.2015
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 23.03.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 10.03.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 11.03.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 11.03.2015
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 16.03.2015
Thornberry, Emily Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 17.03.2015
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 20.03.2015