Early day motion 852

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is aware that half of the Parthenon sculptures, controversially removed from Athens by Lord Elgin 210 years ago using a flimsy legal justification during the Ottoman occupation of Greece, remain on display in the British Museum; notes that, when presented with the facts, the British public favours the reunification of the Parthenon Marbles in Athens; further notes an opinion poll conducted by YouGov in October 2014 which shows only 23 per cent of the British public think they should stay in Britain; is further aware that the British Museum has abandoned most of its conventional arguments and now advances the novel concept of a universal museum; regrets the Government's apparent decision to reject the offer from UNESCO to mediate with the Greek government; and calls on the Government to reverse this decision and to demonstrate that Britain is prepared to express its standing in the world by engaging in a gracious act to reunite these British-held Parthenon sculptures with those now displayed in the purpose-built Acropolis Museum in the shadow of the monument to which they belong, the Parthenon in Athens.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 20

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 20 out of 20

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 12.03.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.03.2015
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 25.03.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 09.03.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 09.03.2015
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 09.03.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 09.03.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 09.03.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 23.03.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 10.03.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.03.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 11.03.2015
Lefroy, Jeremy Conservative Party Stafford 09.03.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 09.03.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 11.03.2015
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 09.03.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 11.03.2015
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 11.03.2015
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 09.03.2015
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 09.03.2015