Early day motion 845

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the situation faced by 550,000 British pensioners living overseas, primarily in Commonwealth countries, who are currently deprived of annual state pension uprating adjustments by the Government's frozen pension policy; believes that there is a positive incremental solution of partial uprating, involving introducing annual uprating to all currently frozen pensions going forward, but from their current rate only; further notes that partial uprating would cost just £37 million and carry no legal risks of historic back payment claims; further notes that partial uprating would benefit all currently frozen pensioners immediately by ending the real terms year-on-year decline of their state pensions; further notes that partial uprating would remove the frozen pension problem completely for future retirees; further notes that this would remove a significant current barrier to pensioner emigration from the UK, offering significant consequential savings that would more than cover the upfront costs, even in year one; and calls on the Government to implement partial uprating as an affordable and practical means to offer dignity in retirement to all British pensioners, based on their historic contributions, not place of residence.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 52

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 52 out of 52

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 16.03.2015
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 05.03.2015
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 16.03.2015
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 16.03.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 09.03.2015
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 05.03.2015
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 11.03.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.03.2015
Cash, William Conservative Party Stone 11.03.2015
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 16.03.2015
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 10.03.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 09.03.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 10.03.2015
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 18.03.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 10.03.2015
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 24.03.2015
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 10.03.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 12.03.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 12.03.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 10.03.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 09.03.2015
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 05.03.2015
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 11.03.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 12.03.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.03.2015
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 24.03.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 11.03.2015
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 16.03.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 05.03.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 12.03.2015
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 17.03.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 11.03.2015
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 25.03.2015
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 11.03.2015
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 25.03.2015
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 05.03.2015
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 09.03.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 11.03.2015
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 16.03.2015
Thornton, Mike Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 18.03.2015
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 10.03.2015
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 10.03.2015
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 23.03.2015
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 11.03.2015
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 12.03.2015
Whittaker, Craig Conservative Party Calder Valley 05.03.2015
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 18.03.2015
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 17.03.2015
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 12.03.2015
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 17.03.2015
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 12.03.2015
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 20.03.2015