Early day motion 843

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House warmly congratulates the Mayor of Morphou and the members of the Morphou municipality on holding their photography exhibition, Morphou: The Pillage and Destruction of Age-Long Heritage, in the UK to remind the British public, the EU and the major countries of the world of the ongoing injustice and cultural destruction that Morphou and its citizens still suffer from the Turkish military invasion and ongoing occupation of large areas of the Republic of Cyprus since July 1974; notes with deep concern the appalling conditions and cultural destruction of Morphou and its surrounding areas, including cemeteries, one of which has been concreted over and is now used as a car park; and calls on the Government to bring these matters to the attention of the Turkish Cypriot administration and the government of Turkey and to request that they show proper respect for cemeteries and places of religious worship and stop destroying the cultural heritage of not only the Morphou area, but the whole occupied northern part of Cyprus.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 24

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 24 out of 24

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 10.03.2015
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 05.03.2015
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 16.03.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 05.03.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 05.03.2015
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 05.03.2015
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 05.03.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 12.03.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 12.03.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 09.03.2015
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 05.03.2015
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 05.03.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.03.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 05.03.2015
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 17.03.2015
Mahmood, Khalid Labour Party Birmingham Perry Barr 05.03.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 12.03.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 05.03.2015
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 05.03.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 05.03.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 05.03.2015
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 05.03.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 11.03.2015
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 05.03.2015