Early day motion 841

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is delighted that the Mahatma Gandhi statue in Parliament Square will be unveiled on 14 March 2015 by the Prime Minister and Indian Finance Minister, Arun Jaitley; congratulates the various stakeholders, including the Gandhi Statue Memorial Trust, Councillor Robert Davies, Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for the Built Environment of Westminster City Council and the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, who chairs the Gandhi Statue Special Advisory Board; applauds the hundreds of generous donors from the UK, India and around the world; notes that this is the third Mahatma Gandhi statue in the UK, the others being in Tavistock Square, London and Belgrave Road, Leicester; and believes the statue is an important testimony to Gandhi's powerful legacy and a very positive step for the relationship between the UK and India.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 21

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 21 out of 21

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 10.03.2015
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 05.03.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 05.03.2015
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 24.03.2015
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 16.03.2015
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 11.03.2015
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 12.03.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 09.03.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 10.03.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 09.03.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 12.03.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.03.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 11.03.2015
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 05.03.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 12.03.2015
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 17.03.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 05.03.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 04.03.2015
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 04.03.2015
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 04.03.2015
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 11.03.2015