Early day motion 837

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the contribution of Sikh soldiers in the First World War when over 138,000 Indian troops fought in Belgium and France, many of them Sikh; recognises that more than one-quarter of these soldiers would become casualties; further notes that in March 1915, 100 years ago, Sikh troops along with counterparts from around the British Empire fought in the bloody battle of Neuve Chapelle and many made the ultimate sacrifice; further recognises that Sikh regiments lost nearly four-fifths of their men and three regiments stood at only 16 per cent of their original strength; and urges the Government to support the erection of a permanent monument in Central London to highlight and commemorate their brave actions and grave losses.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 51

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 51 out of 51

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 10.03.2015
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 10.03.2015
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 05.03.2015
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 09.03.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 04.03.2015
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 11.03.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.03.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 09.03.2015
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 24.03.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 10.03.2015
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 09.03.2015
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 11.03.2015
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 11.03.2015
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 12.03.2015
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 17.03.2015
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 10.03.2015
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 06.03.2015
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 12.03.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 09.03.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 12.03.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 10.03.2015
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 09.03.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 09.03.2015
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 11.03.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 12.03.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 05.03.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 12.03.2015
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 09.03.2015
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 10.03.2015
Malhotra, Seema Labour Party Feltham and Heston 11.03.2015
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 10.03.2015
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 10.03.2015
McDonald, Andy Labour Party Middlesbrough 12.03.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 12.03.2015
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 17.03.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 10.03.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 05.03.2015
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 12.03.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 09.03.2015
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 18.03.2015
Murphy, Jim Labour Party East Renfrewshire 16.03.2015
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 05.03.2015
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 23.03.2015
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 10.03.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 09.03.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 04.03.2015
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 10.03.2015
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 10.03.2015
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 11.03.2015
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 11.03.2015
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 11.03.2015