Early day motion 829

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the recent pardon granted to Alan Turing for his conviction under anti-gay laws; recognises that a further 50,000 to 100,000 men were also convicted of offences under those laws during the 20th century; believes this is one of the UK's great historical injustices; notes with concern the continued problem of homophobia in Britain today; and calls on the Government to issue, firstly, a universal apology to all men convicted of consenting adult same-sex behaviour under now repealed anti-gay laws and, secondly, a pardon, on a case by case basis, for all men convicted of consenting adult same-sex behaviour under now repealed anti-gay laws, with the convicted person or their partner, family, descendants, friend or any interested third party being eligible to apply for a pardon to the Home Secretary.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 29

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 29 out of 29

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 12.03.2015
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 05.03.2015
Blunt, Crispin Conservative Party Reigate 10.03.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 04.03.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 04.03.2015
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 23.03.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 04.03.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 04.03.2015
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 11.03.2015
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 06.03.2015
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 17.03.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 09.03.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.03.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 10.03.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 09.03.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 12.03.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 05.03.2015
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 04.03.2015
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 03.03.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 11.03.2015
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 10.03.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 12.03.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 04.03.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 05.03.2015
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 04.03.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 04.03.2015
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 24.03.2015
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 04.03.2015
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 18.03.2015