Early day motion 821

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the severity of the downturn in the UK's offshore oil industry resulting from the slump in oil prices; believes that short-term responses such as delay or cancellation of long-term projects, laying off workers, extending working hours, accelerating cost-cutting recruitment practices or changing terms and conditions without consultation will fail to mitigate the impacts on workers or the wider economy; further believes that reducing essential maintenance work would jeopardise infrastructure integrity and capacity, thousands of jobs, essential skills and future tax revenues from this vital sector; further believes that oil industry trade unions have a key role to play in government and industry initiatives, such as the Energy Jobs Taskforce, in ensuring that the views and interests of those working in the industry are taken fully into account; and calls on the Government at every level to work closely with employers, regulators, trade unions and elected representatives to support measures that preserve the sustainability of operations, jobs, skills and investment, as well as a robust safety regime in the North Sea.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 49

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 49 out of 49

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 04.03.2015
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 25.02.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 27.02.2015
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 10.03.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 04.03.2015
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 25.02.2015
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 25.02.2015
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 04.03.2015
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 04.03.2015
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 05.03.2015
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 25.02.2015
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 25.02.2015
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 03.03.2015
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 25.02.2015
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 06.03.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.03.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 04.03.2015
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 02.03.2015
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 09.03.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.02.2015
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 09.03.2015
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 27.02.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 25.02.2015
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 04.03.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 26.02.2015
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 05.03.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 03.03.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 04.03.2015
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 25.02.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 25.02.2015
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 25.02.2015
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 26.02.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 04.03.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 25.02.2015
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 18.03.2015
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 05.03.2015
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 09.03.2015
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 27.02.2015
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 05.03.2015
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 03.03.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 04.03.2015
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 25.02.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 25.02.2015
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 03.03.2015
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 16.03.2015
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 05.03.2015
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 05.03.2015
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 25.02.2015
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 05.03.2015