Early day motion 818

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is deeply concerned by the introduction of charging for use of the new Child Maintenance Service and that a lack of resources means that £2.9 billion of the £3.9 billion arrears owed to single parent families is not being collected; deplores the fact that money once intended for the upbringing of children is now being taken solely for Government coffers and that receiving families will lose out by over £70 a year which could pay for anything from winter coats to school trips or to put food on the table; refutes the idea that charges act as an incentive for parents to make private arrangements; questions how charging passes the Government's flagship family test, which includes an assessment of what impact a policy has on families most at risk of deteriorating relationships and breakdown; is mindful that a statutory child maintenance system was set up 21 years ago to address the suffering caused by child poverty and the financial costs that were otherwise being met by the state; and urges the Government to end charging for use of the child maintenance system and ensure adequate resources to collect arrears.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 38

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 38 out of 38

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 04.03.2015
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 03.03.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 04.03.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 04.03.2015
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 16.03.2015
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 17.03.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 25.02.2015
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 04.03.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 25.02.2015
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 11.03.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 25.02.2015
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 12.03.2015
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 06.03.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 25.02.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 04.03.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 25.02.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 04.03.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.02.2015
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 27.02.2015
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 26.02.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 25.03.2015
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 05.03.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 03.03.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 03.03.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 25.02.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 03.03.2015
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 02.03.2015
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 18.03.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 09.03.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 04.03.2015
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 24.03.2015
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 27.02.2015
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 05.03.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 09.03.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 04.03.2015
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 06.03.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 26.02.2015
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 25.02.2015