Early day motion 817

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the invaluable contribution made by servicemen and servicewomen, past and present, to the security of the UK and the risks they take with their health and lives in defence of freedom; further notes that this unique sacrifice is not fully recognised within the social care system, with veterans who were injured before 6 April 2005 typically finding that all but the first £10 per week of their military compensation is taken to cover the costs of their care; further notes that this is not the case for veterans who were injured after 6 April 2005, or for civilians who have been injured in the workplace, both of whom can retain their compensation awards in full when accessing council support; recognises that the current situation amounts to a clear breach of the Armed Forces Covenant principle of no disadvantage due to Service; and calls on the Government and devolved administrations to harmonise the treatment of injured veterans' compensation payments in social care charging guidance, making additional financial resources available to help local authorities implement this policy change.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 69

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 69 out of 69

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 09.03.2015
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 27.02.2015
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 02.03.2015
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 25.02.2015
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 03.03.2015
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 03.03.2015
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 03.03.2015
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 05.03.2015
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 26.02.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 04.03.2015
Carmichael, Neil Conservative Party Stroud 05.03.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 04.03.2015
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 02.03.2015
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 04.03.2015
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 25.02.2015
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 05.03.2015
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 05.03.2015
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 12.03.2015
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 04.03.2015
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 04.03.2015
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 27.02.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 25.02.2015
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 05.03.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.03.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 04.03.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 25.02.2015
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 25.02.2015
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 23.03.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 04.03.2015
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 09.03.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 05.03.2015
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 27.02.2015
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 03.03.2015
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 10.03.2015
Kirby, Simon Conservative Party Brighton Kemptown 04.03.2015
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 04.03.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 26.02.2015
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 05.03.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 03.03.2015
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 25.02.2015
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 04.03.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 03.03.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 04.03.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 03.03.2015
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 04.03.2015
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 05.03.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 04.03.2015
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 02.03.2015
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 05.03.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 04.03.2015
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 18.03.2015
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 25.03.2015
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 05.03.2015
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 27.02.2015
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 05.03.2015
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 03.03.2015
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 03.03.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 04.03.2015
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 09.03.2015
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 04.03.2015
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 12.03.2015
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 05.03.2015
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 04.03.2015
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 25.02.2015
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 25.02.2015
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 05.03.2015
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 03.03.2015
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 23.03.2015
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 02.03.2015