Early day motion 815

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the importance of support for students with disabilities to enable them to access education; is concerned with the proposed changes to the disabled students' allowance (DSA) announced on 7 April 2014 and updated in regulations laid on 16 October 2014; believes that the Non-Medical Help (NMH) aspect of DSA is an important means of support for students with disabilities to achieve and prosper in higher education; further notes the results of a survey by a specialist support provider which found that 42.4 per cent of survey respondents said they would be more likely to drop out if cuts to the DSA fall whilst they are at university; is alarmed that many potential students stand to be affected by the proposed changes to the DSA; further notes with concern the funding and support disparities that would result from the proposed changes; and calls on the Government to review the current proposals to ensure that any student, regardless of disability, has fair and sustainable access to support whilst studying.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 44

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 44 out of 44

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 04.03.2015
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 03.03.2015
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 03.03.2015
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 09.03.2015
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 10.03.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 25.02.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 04.03.2015
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 17.03.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 25.02.2015
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 04.03.2015
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 18.03.2015
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 06.03.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 26.02.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.03.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 04.03.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 25.02.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 04.03.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.02.2015
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 24.02.2015
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 09.03.2015
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 26.02.2015
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 05.03.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 03.03.2015
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 10.03.2015
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 04.03.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 03.03.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 04.03.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 25.02.2015
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 04.03.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 09.03.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 04.03.2015
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 05.03.2015
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 03.03.2015
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 27.02.2015
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 05.03.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 25.02.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 04.03.2015
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 09.03.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 26.02.2015
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 03.03.2015
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 12.03.2015
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 04.03.2015
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 18.03.2015
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 02.03.2015