Early day motion 796

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House condemns the decision by the National Gallery to transfer 400 of its 600 staff to the private sector; notes that these staff are responsible for the security of the paintings and the public and provide information about the collection to the Gallery's millions of visitors each year; is concerned that the National Gallery is the only major museum or gallery that does not pay the London Living wage; further notes that over 40,000 people have signed a petition that demands that the National Gallery remains a public service and the privatisation should be halted; calls on the Government to intervene in the case of Candy Udwin, who has been suspended for allegedly breaching commercial confidentiality for drafting a question for the Public Commercial Services Union to ask about the cost of a private company, CIS, which has been brought in temporarily to take over the services of a third of the staff while negotiating at ACAS; further calls on the Department for Culture, Media and Sport to review the running of the Gallery; and further calls on the Government to ensure that funding is in place so valuable skills, knowledge, experience and dedication of the current staff of the National Gallery are not lost.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 37

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 37 out of 37

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 12.02.2015
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 24.02.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 25.02.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 24.02.2015
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 09.03.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 12.02.2015
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 23.02.2015
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 03.03.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 24.02.2015
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 06.03.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 09.03.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 25.02.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 23.02.2015
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 24.02.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 04.03.2015
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 23.02.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 11.02.2015
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 17.03.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 11.02.2015
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 03.03.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 11.03.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 03.03.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 12.02.2015
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 23.02.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 12.02.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 23.02.2015
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 24.02.2015
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 23.02.2015
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 25.03.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 12.02.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 11.02.2015
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 25.03.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 12.02.2015
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 11.02.2015
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 25.03.2015
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 17.03.2015
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 11.02.2015