Early day motion 778

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with grave concern the continuation of the long-running industrial dispute between Barnet Council and Your Choice Barnet (YCB), a local authority trading company 100 per cent owned by the London Borough of Barnet, which provides services for adults with disabilities; further notes that this dispute relates to a 9.5 per cent pay cut imposed on low paid care workers on 1 April 2014; further notes that the pay cut imposed on the YCB care workers comes just a year after YCB workers saw over 30 per cent of their colleagues made redundant due to a restructure and all shift allowances were removed; believes there is excessive use of agency and casual staff meaning the regular staff carry an extra workload in familiarising casual staff with the work to be done; and calls on the London Borough of Barnet to enter into serious negotiations with YCB, Barnet UNISON and the local trade union, to resolve this dispute constructively and allow YCB to focus once again on its provision of high-quality services for adults with disabilities.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 34

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 34 out of 34

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 24.02.2015
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 25.02.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.02.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.02.2015
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 23.02.2015
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 05.03.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 10.02.2015
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 05.03.2015
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 24.03.2015
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 09.03.2015
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 19.03.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 24.02.2015
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 06.03.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 25.02.2015
Hain, Peter Labour Party Neath 23.02.2015
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 24.02.2015
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 09.03.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 23.02.2015
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 23.02.2015
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 26.02.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 11.02.2015
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 23.02.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 09.02.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 10.02.2015
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 04.03.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 10.02.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 04.03.2015
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 09.03.2015
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 27.02.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 11.02.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 12.02.2015
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 24.02.2015
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 16.03.2015
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 02.03.2015