Early day motion 773

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the growing fossil fuel divestment movement in the UK, consisting of universities, churches, institutions, pension holders and other individuals demonstrating climate leadership by withdrawing financial support from the fossil fuel industry; further welcomes Global Divestment Day taking place on 13 and 14 February 2015; recalls that in June 2014 British Medical Association members voted to end investments in the fossil-fuel industry and increase investment in renewable energy, because of the serious health threat posed by unmitigated climate change; notes the Unhealthy Investments report from UK health-based non-governmental organisations, which calls for other health organisations to end investment in the 200 largest publicly-listed fossil fuel companies, over a period of five years; acknowledges the work of Carbon Tracker in highlighting financial risks of investment in high-carbon assets and the carbon bubble; further notes that the Governor of the Bank of England is among numerous high-profile figures agreeing that the vast majority of fossil fuel companies' reserves cannot be burned if the internationally agreed goal of limiting global temperatures to below two degrees above pre-industrial levels is to be achieved; considers that hon. Members have a responsibility to demonstrate leadership on climate change; and calls on the Trustees of the Parliamentary Contributory Pension Scheme to quantify and review the Fund's investments in fossil fuel industries in light of both their contribution to advancing climate change and the risks facing those industries from effective climate regulation.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 21

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 21 out of 21

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 03.03.2015
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 11.02.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.02.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 05.02.2015
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 25.02.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 09.02.2015
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 11.02.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 05.02.2015
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 25.03.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 10.02.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 23.02.2015
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 10.02.2015
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 04.02.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 11.02.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 04.02.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 12.02.2015
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 24.03.2015
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 10.02.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 11.02.2015
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 05.02.2015
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 12.02.2015