Early day motion 76

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes that the Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission, as the National Human Rights Institution for Northern Ireland, plays a vital role in ensuring that Government and public bodies protect the fundamental human rights of everyone in Northern Ireland; acknowledges the role that the Commission has played in promoting understanding and education about human rights so that people know their rights and the protections they are entitled to if these are violated, denied or compromised; pays tribute to the role of the Commission in maintaining peace, promoting progress and building community cohesion in Northern Ireland in the spirit envisioned by the Good Friday Agreement and under UN obligations in post-conflict societies; notes with concern that the Government is cutting the Commission's budget by over 10 per cent for 2015-16 and that this follows a 25 per cent budget cut in the last four years; further notes that these cuts will impair the Commission's capacity to operate successfully and could jeopardise its United Nations A status and with it Northern Ireland's voice at the UN; and calls on the Government to withdraw this cut and provide full and proper funding to the Commission so that it can fulfil its duty to protect and promote the rights of all of the people in Northern Ireland.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 31

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 31 out of 31

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 18.06.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 16.06.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 30.06.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 16.06.2014
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 10.07.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 23.06.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 11.06.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 19.06.2014
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 24.06.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 23.06.2014
Hain, Peter Labour Party Neath 17.06.2014
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 18.06.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.06.2014
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 18.06.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 02.07.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 18.06.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 16.06.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 12.06.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 26.06.2014
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 25.06.2014
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 24.06.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 18.06.2014
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 16.07.2014
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 18.06.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 11.06.2014
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 25.06.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 19.06.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 16.06.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 23.06.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 23.06.2014
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 10.07.2014