Early day motion 713

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that racehorses are routinely beaten with a whip under rules set by the industry's regulatory body, the British Horseracing Authority (BHA); further notes that these rules explicitly sanction this violent treatment in order that jockeys may encourage racehorses to improve their chances of winning, even though evidence indicates that whipping for this purpose is counter-productive; further notes that no other animal can be legally beaten in such circumstances and that a 2014 YouGov poll found that 70 per cent of all respondents oppose racehorses being whipped; recognises that, for genuine purposes of safety where other methods have failed to bring a horse under control, a whip can be legitimately employed, as is the case in Norway; and calls on the Department for Culture, Media and Sport and the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs to ensure that the BHA's rules are amended to forbid use of the whip for encouragement or for equivalent reasons.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 66

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 66 out of 66

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 17.03.2015
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 05.02.2015
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 17.03.2015
Birtwistle, Gordon Liberal Democrats Burnley 03.02.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 20.01.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.01.2015
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 02.03.2015
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 09.02.2015
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 03.02.2015
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 25.03.2015
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 11.02.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.01.2015
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.02.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 17.03.2015
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 23.03.2015
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 23.03.2015
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 05.02.2015
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 23.02.2015
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 12.02.2015
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 23.02.2015
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 10.02.2015
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 09.02.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 17.03.2015
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 11.02.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 23.02.2015
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 24.03.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 23.03.2015
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 23.02.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 20.01.2015
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 18.03.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 28.01.2015
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 23.02.2015
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 10.03.2015
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 03.02.2015
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 20.01.2015
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 11.02.2015
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 04.02.2015
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 02.02.2015
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 06.03.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 22.01.2015
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 27.02.2015
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 23.02.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 28.01.2015
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 03.02.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 22.01.2015
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 23.02.2015
McKenzie, Iain Labour Party Inverclyde 03.02.2015
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 18.03.2015
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 26.02.2015
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 05.02.2015
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 05.03.2015
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 10.02.2015
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 20.01.2015
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 11.03.2015
Thornberry, Emily Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 23.02.2015
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 23.03.2015
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 09.02.2015
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 25.03.2015
Watson, Tom Labour Party West Bromwich East 23.03.2015
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 09.02.2015
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 29.01.2015
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 19.03.2015
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 04.02.2015
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 11.03.2015
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 23.02.2015
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 24.02.2015