Early day motion 623

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the UK has the highest incidence of oesophageal adenocarcinoma in the world and that incidence is rising; further notes that there are over 8,000 people diagnosed with oesophageal cancer every year in the UK; acknowledges that the survival rate for oesophageal cancer is one of the worst of any cancer, with only 15 per cent survival after five years; further notes that diagnosis for the condition Barrett's oesophagus which can lead to oesophageal cancer is low and that public awareness of the significance of persistent heartburn as a risk factor is very low; welcomes the work of the Oesophageal Cancer Westminster Campaign, a campaign group of patient groups, clinical experts, industry and bereaved families; further welcomes the national Be Clear on Cancer campaign on oesophageal cancer; and calls for the Government and the Department of Health to regard the diagnosis and treatment of Barrett's oesophagus and oesophageal cancer as a national priority to save lives.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 88

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 88 out of 88

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 17.12.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 09.01.2015
Baldry, Tony Conservative Party Banbury 02.03.2015
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 03.03.2015
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 14.01.2015
Bellingham, Henry Conservative Party North West Norfolk 03.02.2015
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 17.12.2014
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 10.03.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 15.12.2014
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 17.12.2014
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 06.01.2015
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 21.01.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 17.12.2014
Carmichael, Neil Conservative Party Stroud 05.03.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 17.12.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 09.03.2015
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 04.03.2015
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 17.03.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 16.12.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 17.12.2014
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 24.03.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 17.12.2014
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 05.03.2015
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 17.12.2014
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 07.01.2015
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 04.03.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 15.12.2014
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 15.12.2014
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 02.03.2015
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 11.02.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 05.01.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 08.01.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 17.12.2014
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 09.03.2015
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 05.01.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 17.12.2014
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 02.03.2015
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 09.03.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 17.12.2014
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 17.12.2014
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 16.12.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 08.01.2015
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 22.01.2015
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 10.03.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 26.01.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 08.01.2015
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 06.01.2015
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 18.12.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.12.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 20.01.2015
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 03.03.2015
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 08.01.2015
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 06.01.2015
McDonald, Andy Labour Party Middlesbrough 03.03.2015
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 12.01.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 15.12.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 11.02.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 05.01.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 16.12.2014
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 24.03.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 04.03.2015
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 17.12.2014
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 05.03.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 17.12.2014
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 17.03.2015
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 05.01.2015
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 05.03.2015
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 07.01.2015
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 16.12.2014
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 09.03.2015
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 05.01.2015
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 03.02.2015
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 17.12.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 16.12.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 16.12.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 16.12.2014
Shepherd, Richard Conservative Party Aldridge-Brownhills 08.01.2015
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 07.01.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 18.12.2014
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 02.03.2015
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 17.12.2014
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 10.03.2015
Thornton, Mike Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 15.12.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 18.12.2014
Weatherley, Mike Conservative Party Hove 04.03.2015
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 06.01.2015
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 18.12.2014
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 05.03.2015