Early day motion 60

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is deeply disappointed that the Gracious Speech did not contain measures to ban the use of wild animals in circuses, despite repeated pledges from Ministers that action would be taken; notes that since the House voted unanimously in favour of a ban in 2011 big cats have returned to Britain and is concerned that the continued delay may lead to other wild species being forced to perform in circuses; further notes that the draft Wild Animals in Circuses Bill has already been scrutinised by the Environment and Rural Affairs Committee; supports Animal Defenders International and other animal welfare organisations in their ongoing campaign to end this outdated practice; and calls on the Government to introduce legislation to ensure a ban can be introduced during the 2014-15 Session.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 81

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 81 out of 81

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 18.06.2014
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 10.06.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 10.06.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 02.07.2014
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 10.06.2014
Brennan, Kevin Labour Party Cardiff West 24.03.2015
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 06.01.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.06.2014
Carswell, Douglas UKIP Clacton 03.02.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.06.2014
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 11.02.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 11.06.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 12.06.2014
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 19.06.2014
Crouch, Tracey Conservative Party Chatham and Aylesford 12.06.2014
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 09.07.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 18.06.2014
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 25.06.2014
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 11.06.2014
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 11.06.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 10.06.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 10.06.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 11.06.2014
Evans, Jonathan Conservative Party Cardiff North 23.06.2014
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 18.06.2014
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 10.06.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.06.2014
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 17.06.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 18.06.2014
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 06.03.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 12.06.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 10.06.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 17.06.2014
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 10.06.2014
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 30.06.2014
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 16.06.2014
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 11.06.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.06.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 23.06.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 10.06.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 19.06.2014
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 08.07.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 23.06.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 11.06.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 02.07.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 10.06.2014
Lucas, Ian Labour Party Wrexham 24.03.2015
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 12.06.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 11.06.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 11.06.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 17.06.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 11.06.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 10.06.2014
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 16.06.2014
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 10.06.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 03.07.2014
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 16.06.2014
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 21.11.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 18.06.2014
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 16.06.2014
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 10.06.2014
Reckless, Mark UKIP Rochester and Strood 03.02.2015
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 16.06.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 10.06.2014
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 25.06.2014
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 25.11.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 11.06.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 12.06.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 09.02.2015
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 19.06.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 10.06.2014
Smith, Nick Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 30.06.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 16.06.2014
Thornton, Mike Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 17.06.2014
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 18.06.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 30.06.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 11.06.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 16.06.2014
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 10.06.2014
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 24.03.2015
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 07.07.2014