Early day motion 587

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House condemns the continuing use of rape as a weapon of war and the recent escalation in military attacks in Kachin, Northern Shan and Karen States; notes the recent report by the Women's League for Burma detailing evidence of the continuing use of rape and sexual violence; calls for a nationwide ceasefire and an end to the use of rape and sexual violence as a weapon of war by the Burmese army; further calls on the Government to urge the government of Burma to engage in genuine political dialogue with ethnic nationalities without preconditions; further calls on the Government to urge the government of Burma to uphold its obligations under international law to end impunity and ensure accountability; further calls on the Government to urge the government of Burma to amend the constitution of that country to remove the current disqualification of Burmese citizens with foreign children becoming President; further calls on the Prime Minister's Special Representative on Preventing Sexual Violence in Conflict to address the issues in Burma highlighted by the Women's League for Burma's Report; and further calls on the Government to support an independent international investigation into rape and sexual violence in Burma and to provide funding to women's organisations from Burma which document sexual violence by the Burmese army and assist survivors.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 16.12.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 02.12.2014
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 16.12.2014
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 03.12.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 03.12.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 04.12.2014
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 03.12.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 08.12.2014
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 10.03.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 04.12.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 11.02.2015
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 11.12.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 02.12.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.12.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 15.12.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 05.12.2014
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 05.01.2015
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 15.12.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 03.12.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 03.12.2014
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 05.01.2015
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 04.12.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 09.12.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 08.12.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 10.12.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 11.12.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 09.12.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 03.12.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 04.12.2014
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 09.12.2014
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 04.12.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 03.12.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 03.12.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 02.12.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 04.12.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 03.12.2014