Early day motion 362

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the conditions of brick labourers in India; emphasises the fact that many of these labourers see abuses of minimum wage rates and health and safety regulations; further notes that many work up to 16 hours a day; further notes that children as young as four years old are also working in these conditions; further notes that such labour is often bonded labour and that a recent BBC report brought to light examples of workers having their hands cut off when trying to escape; welcomes the work by Union Solidarity International in highlighting these abuses through its Blood Bricks campaign; highlights the 2011 UN and OECD guidelines specifying that multinational companies should have direct responsibility for human rights abuses anywhere in their supply chains; is concerned that these guidelines are not being enforced; stresses that any and every industry using new buildings in India should be under scrutiny; and calls on the Government to bring forward legislation to enforce these guidelines in UK law and to raise these issues in international negotiations.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 48

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 48 out of 48

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 15.10.2014
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 15.10.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 15.10.2014
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 13.01.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 22.10.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 22.10.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 15.10.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 15.10.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 16.10.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 15.10.2014
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 15.10.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 15.10.2014
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 15.10.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 06.11.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 15.10.2014
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 06.11.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 16.10.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 27.10.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 21.10.2014
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 15.10.2014
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 23.10.2014
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 15.10.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.10.2014
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 28.10.2014
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 22.10.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 20.10.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 15.10.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 27.10.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 22.10.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 15.10.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 15.10.2014
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 04.11.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 15.10.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 15.10.2014
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 26.11.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 15.10.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 15.10.2014
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 29.10.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 15.10.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 16.10.2014
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 15.10.2014
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 22.10.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 15.10.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 21.10.2014
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 02.12.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 20.10.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 21.10.2014
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 22.10.2014