Early day motion 280

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates the four students selected to represent the UK at the 25th International Biology Olympiad in July 2014 held in Bali in Indonesia, all of whom brought home medals; notes that over 5,000 students took part in the first round of this competition of which 120 students were selected for a further stage after which the top four students were selected from a shortlist of 16 at the British Biology Olympiad final held at the University of Warwick in April 2014; further congratulates the UK team of Adam Heath (Gold medal winner), Josh Dickerson (Silver medal winner), Dia Ghose (Silver medal winner) and Rebecca Peel (Bronze medal winner) on their outstanding success in this year's international competition; recognises that students in the UK can compete against the very best biologists in the world and come back as winners; and further congratulates the Society of Biology and the UK Biology Competitions Special Interest Group, together with the Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council, for their key role in organising this competition.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 16

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 16 out of 16

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 22.07.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 22.07.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 22.07.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 21.10.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 01.09.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 22.07.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 15.10.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 01.09.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 21.07.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 01.09.2014
Metcalfe, Stephen Conservative Party Basildon South and Thurrock East 21.07.2014
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 21.07.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 22.07.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 22.07.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 03.09.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 01.09.2014