Early day motion 213

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the lack of reform in the administration of criminal cases in Bahrain despite the acceptance of the Bahrain Independent Commission of Inquiry Report in 2011; is concerned by the failure of the Bahraini government to implement a number of the recommendations made by the Bahrain Independent Commission of Inquiry specifically to address the culture of impunity and inequality of Bahrain's justice system; further notes the 2014 Human Rights Watch Report that highlights the continued prosecution and conviction of defendants, including human rights activists, political figures and medical personnel, on charges based on the exercise of rights to freedom of expression, association and peaceful assembly; is further concerned by the harsh sentences given by court judges for insulting the king and the ratification of recent penal code amendments in February 2014 that increase the sentence for such charges; expresses disappointment at the inadequacy of Bahrain's attempt to investigate and prosecute security personnel accused of torture and calls on the Government of Bahrain to hold human rights offenders accountable; calls for the immediate release of all political prisoners including Ibrahim Sharif, Abdulhadi al-Khawaja, Hassan Mushaima, Naji Fateel and Abdulwahab Husain; is further concerned at the failure of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) to list Bahrain as a country of concern in its 2014 Human Rights Report; and further calls on the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs to condemn human rights abuses in Bahrain and list it as a country of concern in order to promote accountability and transparency within Bahrain's justice system.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 73

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 73 out of 73

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 03.07.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 08.07.2014
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 01.09.2014
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 01.09.2014
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 01.09.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 09.07.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 16.07.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 16.07.2014
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 22.07.2014
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 03.07.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 09.09.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 03.07.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 08.07.2014
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 09.07.2014
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 02.09.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 01.09.2014
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 09.09.2014
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 15.10.2014
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 03.09.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 03.09.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 08.07.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 08.07.2014
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 08.09.2014
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 01.09.2014
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 09.09.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 14.07.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 10.07.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 11.12.2014
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 23.10.2014
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 01.09.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 10.07.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 09.07.2014
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 01.09.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 01.09.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 07.07.2014
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 16.07.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 09.07.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 07.07.2014
Joyce, Eric INDEPENDENT Falkirk 01.09.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 15.07.2014
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 01.09.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 15.07.2014
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 01.09.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 08.07.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 02.09.2014
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 22.10.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 17.07.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 13.10.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 03.07.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 01.09.2014
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 03.07.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 10.07.2014
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 02.09.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 03.12.2014
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 03.07.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 09.07.2014
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 01.09.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 04.09.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 01.09.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 08.07.2014
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 01.09.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 08.07.2014
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 03.09.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 22.07.2014
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent Central 01.09.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 02.09.2014
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 01.09.2014
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 08.07.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 09.12.2014
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 16.07.2014
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 09.07.2014
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 03.09.2014
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 02.09.2014