Early day motion 153

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the expiration later in 2014 of the 10-year extension to the US-UK Mutual Defence Agreement (MDA); understands that the role of MDA is to improve UK atomic weapon design; believes that the extension of this bilateral treaty undermines US and UK commitments under Article I and Article VI of the 1968 Non-Proliferation Treaty, which states that each nuclear-weapon State Party to the Treaty shall not transfer nuclear weapons or explosive devices and shall pursue negotiations in good faith on effective measures relating to nuclear disarmament; is concerned that the Government does not see a potential conflict of interest between the MDA and the NPT; and urges that a debate be held in Government time on any proposal to renew the MDA prior to ratification.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 21

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 21 out of 21

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 25.06.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 24.06.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 03.07.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 19.06.2014
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 05.11.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 23.06.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 23.06.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 05.11.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 19.06.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 01.07.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 19.06.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 19.06.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.06.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 19.06.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 19.06.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.06.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 24.06.2014
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 19.06.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 19.06.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 25.06.2014
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 24.06.2014