Early day motion 152

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the research from the older people's charity Independent Age, which shows that around three-quarters of councils are currently unable to demonstrate that they protect the families of pensioners from paying top-up fees they cannot afford; welcomes the Department of Health's consultations on the rules that local authorities will be required to follow as part of their responsibilities to provide care and support in England; further notes one significant aspect of the consultation, coming to a close in August 2014, concerns the payment of top-up fees for local authority-supported residents entering care home accommodation; calls on the Department of Health to strengthen the legal framework on charging in residential accommodation; and specifically calls on the Government to ensure local authorities are required to actively monitor which of the residents are able and willing to pay top-ups for residential care so no-one has to make these payments for the essential care that it is councils' responsibility to meet.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 08.07.2014
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 26.06.2014
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 25.06.2014
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 19.06.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 24.06.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 30.06.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 21.07.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 08.07.2014
Crouch, Tracey Conservative Party Chatham and Aylesford 19.06.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 21.07.2014
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 17.07.2014
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 07.07.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 01.07.2014
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 16.07.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 26.06.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 01.07.2014
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 23.06.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 25.06.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 23.06.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 24.06.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.06.2014
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 15.07.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.06.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 30.06.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 19.06.2014
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 15.07.2014
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 16.07.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 22.07.2014
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 19.06.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 24.06.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 25.06.2014
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 22.07.2014
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 24.06.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 10.07.2014
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 01.07.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 23.06.2014