Early day motion 136

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the Fourteenth Report of Session 2013-14 from the Defence Committee on Intervention: Why, When and How?; notes the Committee's recommendations on the role of Parliament and the importance of parliamentary approval before use of military force; stresses the need for debate on conflict decisions to ensure the approval of both Parliament and the public; further notes in particular the emerging convention that the House should have an opportunity to debate military action abroad; and calls on the Government to clarify that the convention will be applied to use of drones outside Afghanistan, whether or not they are operated from the UK and to publish a statement of criteria articulating the legal basis and circumstances in which the UK may commit to military intervention of any sort.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 26

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 26 out of 26

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 18.06.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 24.06.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 18.06.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 18.06.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 23.06.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 23.06.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 19.06.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 18.06.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 10.07.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 19.06.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 23.06.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 01.07.2014
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 30.06.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 19.06.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.06.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 24.06.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 24.06.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 19.06.2014
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 18.06.2014
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 18.06.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 23.06.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 25.06.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 19.06.2014
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent Central 16.07.2014
Watson, Tom Labour Party West Bromwich East 18.06.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 03.07.2014