Early day motion 117

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned that the successive cuts to the Grant In Aid for the Royal Botanic Gardens Kew since 2010 puts over 120 jobs at risk and threatens a loss of scientific expertise not readily available on the international labour market; notes the threat to the capacity and ability of Royal Botanic Gardens Kew to perform its statutory functions and world-leading scientific and conservation research; is further concerned that these cuts will put Kew's UNESCO World Heritage Site status at risk and that pressure to raise revenue means that a number of staff at Kew Enterprises are currently paid below the living wage or are on zero hours contracts; and calls on the Government to consider the results of several independent reviews calling for maintained or increased public funding of Kew by funding the expected shortfall this year of £5 million and ensuring that there is a full public review of how Kew is funded in future before any final decisions are made.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 64

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 64 out of 64

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 01.07.2014
Baldry, Tony Conservative Party Banbury 19.06.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 17.07.2014
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 08.09.2014
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 03.09.2014
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 07.07.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 30.06.2014
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 02.07.2014
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 17.07.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 19.06.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 27.10.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 17.07.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 23.06.2014
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 08.07.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 07.07.2014
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 22.10.2014
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 21.07.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 01.07.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 09.07.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 21.10.2014
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 08.07.2014
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 03.07.2014
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 07.07.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 01.07.2014
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 10.07.2014
George, Andrew [R] Liberal Democrats St Ives 18.06.2014
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 10.09.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 19.06.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 23.06.2014
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 26.06.2014
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 15.07.2014
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 08.07.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 25.06.2014
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 25.06.2014
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 08.01.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 19.06.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 21.07.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 19.06.2014
Joyce, Eric INDEPENDENT Falkirk 01.09.2014
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 02.07.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 19.06.2014
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 01.09.2014
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 27.10.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 24.06.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 29.10.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 17.06.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 21.07.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 17.06.2014
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 14.07.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 25.06.2014
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 18.12.2014
Ottaway, Richard Conservative Party Croydon South 11.11.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 02.07.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 01.07.2014
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 19.06.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 29.10.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 25.06.2014
Thornton, Mike Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 01.07.2014
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 17.10.2014
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 18.06.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 28.01.2015
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 18.06.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 03.07.2014
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 09.07.2014