Early day motion 113

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is deeply concerned by the Government's announcement to close by June 2015 the Independent Living Fund (ILF), on which over 18,000 disabled people with high support needs rely to live independently in the community; questions the decision to give local authorities (LAs) responsibility for this funding without ring fencing when LAs have already cut spending by £1.9 billion on adult services through efficiencies and service reduction between 2011 and 2013, and the Department of Health has shown that demand for adult social services has outstripped funding as expenditure fell nine per cent behind demand over the last four years; notes that experts believe financial pressure and loss of experienced ILF staff will mean current recipients will be placed in residential care or left at home without adequate care provision; highlights the inadequate Government equality assessment which, for example, cites the range of Disabled Student Allowances (DSAs) available to ameliorate the impact of withdrawing ILF on students, despite DSAs also being cut and being an incomparable allowance with a different use; therefore considers the numerous and significant cuts to disabled benefits mean a cumulative impact assessment of cuts on disabled people is a prerequisite to any decision about the ILF; is reminded that in 2013 the Court of Appeal found the Government's decision to close the ILF in March 2015 breached equality duties; and urges the Government to respect its obligations under the UN Convention of the Rights of Disabled Persons by maintaining the ILF and reopening applications.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 58

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 58 out of 58

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 01.07.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 23.06.2014
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 17.06.2014
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 24.06.2014
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 07.07.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 30.06.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 18.06.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 19.06.2014
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 17.11.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 30.06.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 30.06.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 23.06.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 21.10.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 23.06.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 18.06.2014
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 25.06.2014
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 18.06.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 05.09.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 25.06.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 17.06.2014
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 13.10.2014
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 24.06.2014
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 23.06.2014
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 08.09.2014
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 13.10.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 19.06.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 23.06.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 01.07.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 25.06.2014
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 25.06.2014
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 10.09.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 19.06.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 25.11.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 19.06.2014
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 30.06.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 19.06.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 24.06.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 24.06.2014
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 30.06.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 25.06.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 19.06.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 18.06.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 03.07.2014
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 17.06.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 18.06.2014
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 15.07.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 24.06.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 17.06.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 24.06.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 01.07.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 18.06.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 25.06.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 19.06.2014
Smith, Nick Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 02.09.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 23.06.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 19.06.2014
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 18.06.2014
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 10.07.2014