Early day motion 951

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the 10 fold increase over 10 years of labelling children with diagnoses of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD); further notes the pharmaceutical drugs prescribed for this condition are similar to cocaine, have numerous side effects including suicide, depression and anxiety and costs the health service tens of millions of pounds; affirms that there is no objective test to demonstrate the existence of this condition and that the United Nations Committee on the Rights of the Child has expressed deep concern about children being misdiagnosed with ADHD; strenuously opposes the unnecessary drugging of children; calls for rigorous control of the prescribing of psychoactive drugs to children; and further calls for NHS money currently spent on pharmaceutical drugs to be diverted into research into the dietary and environmental causes of the symptoms currently labelled as ADHD.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 25

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 25 out of 25

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 06.02.2014
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 27.03.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 22.01.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 24.02.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 15.01.2014
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 06.03.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 20.01.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 05.02.2014
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 16.01.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 17.01.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 21.01.2014
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 06.03.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.01.2014
Joyce, Eric INDEPENDENT Falkirk 24.02.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 22.01.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 22.01.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 22.01.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 16.01.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 21.01.2014
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 10.02.2014
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 23.01.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 16.01.2014
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 23.01.2014
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 22.01.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 17.01.2014