Early day motion 945

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the evidence now available as a result of the most recent release of Foreign and Commonwealth Office documents which reveal that in 1984 the then Prime Minister, Margaret Thatcher, and Foreign Secretary, Geoffrey Howe, agreed that the UK would provide military assistance in the form of SAS advice in planning the assault by Indian forces on the Sikh's Golden Temple at Amritsar which resulted in a large number of deaths and the desecration of this holy place; further notes that the authorisation of this military assistance was kept secret; and calls on the Government to establish an independent public inquiry into the collusion between the UK and Indian governments on the perpetration of this massacre, including the immediate release of UK Government documents relating to it.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 31

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 31 out of 31

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 15.01.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 15.01.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 15.01.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 13.02.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 15.01.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 05.02.2014
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 20.01.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 15.01.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 21.01.2014
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 06.02.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 15.01.2014
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 29.01.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.01.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 16.01.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.01.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 15.01.2014
Mahmood, Khalid Labour Party Birmingham Perry Barr 24.02.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 15.01.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 14.01.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 16.01.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 21.01.2014
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 26.02.2014
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 16.01.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 22.01.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 16.01.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 15.01.2014
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 27.03.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 15.01.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 15.01.2014
Watson, Tom Labour Party West Bromwich East 14.01.2014
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 16.01.2014