Early day motion 918

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is appalled to learn what thousands of people in mining communities have strongly suspected for 30 years in the wake of the release of the Cabinet papers relating to the 1984-85 miners' strike, that senior Cabinet ministers, including the Prime Minister, micromanaged the Government's side of the strike, whilst publicly claiming to be innocent bystanders; notes that, all along, the National Coal Board had the intention to close over 70 collieries whilst publicly claiming the number to be around 20; further notes that senior Cabinet Ministers deliberately misled the country; further notes that when those striking to protect their communities seemed to be on the verge of victory, the Government plotted to bring in the armed forces to avoid defeat; and furthermore demands a full independent inquiry into the then Government's handling of the 1984-85 miners' strike.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 70

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 70 out of 70

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 10.04.2014
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 13.01.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 08.01.2014
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 28.01.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 06.03.2014
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 08.01.2014
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 24.02.2014
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 24.02.2014
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 15.01.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 08.01.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 15.01.2014
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 13.01.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 08.04.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 30.04.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 24.03.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 07.05.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 08.01.2014
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 08.01.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 13.01.2014
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 13.01.2014
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 03.04.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 08.01.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 08.01.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 31.03.2014
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 24.02.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 08.01.2014
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 15.01.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 05.02.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 08.01.2014
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 16.01.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 13.01.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 14.01.2014
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 08.01.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 13.01.2014
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 08.01.2014
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 08.01.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 08.01.2014
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 15.01.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 20.01.2014
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 10.02.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 08.01.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 15.01.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 19.03.2014
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 09.01.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 15.01.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 17.03.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 08.01.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 08.01.2014
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 13.02.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 08.01.2014
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 15.01.2014
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 14.01.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 19.03.2014
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 08.04.2014
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 15.01.2014
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 04.03.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 08.01.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 27.01.2014
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 14.01.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 30.01.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 13.01.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 13.03.2014
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 24.02.2014
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 08.01.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 08.01.2014
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 13.01.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 13.01.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 14.01.2014
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 08.01.2014
Winnick, David Labour Party Walsall North 08.01.2014