Early day motion 911

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes that parents who suffer the death of a child should have the right to paid time off from their employer in order to grieve; recognises that most employers offer flexibility and support to employees in such tragic circumstances; deplores the significant number of employers who force bereaved parents to go back to work too early or take sick leave in order to grieve; congratulates the Jack's Rainbow campaign for highlighting the injustice that parents who suffer such a tragic loss have no statutory right to paid employment leave; and calls on the Government to amend the Employment Rights Act 1996 to enshrine in law the right to statutory bereavement leave for parents.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 60

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 60 out of 60

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 15.01.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 07.01.2014
Carmichael, Neil Conservative Party Stroud 22.01.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.01.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 15.01.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 15.01.2014
Crouch, Tracey Conservative Party Chatham and Aylesford 09.01.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 13.01.2014
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 13.01.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.01.2014
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 15.01.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 07.01.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 07.01.2014
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 07.01.2014
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 08.04.2014
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 13.01.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 14.01.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 05.02.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 08.01.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 07.01.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 14.01.2014
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 07.01.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 07.01.2014
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 06.01.2014
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 07.01.2014
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 07.01.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 09.01.2014
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 07.01.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 07.01.2014
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 07.01.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 13.01.2014
Lewell-Buck, Emma Labour Party South Shields 07.01.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 22.01.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 14.01.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 09.01.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 15.01.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 08.01.2014
McGuire, Anne Labour Party Stirling 07.01.2014
McKechin, Ann Labour Party Glasgow North 07.01.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 07.01.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 15.01.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 07.01.2014
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 13.01.2014
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 15.01.2014
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 07.01.2014
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 14.01.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 07.01.2014
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 07.01.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 15.01.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 27.01.2014
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 07.01.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 07.01.2014
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 23.01.2014
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 14.01.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 09.01.2014
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 24.01.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 17.01.2014
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 07.01.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 08.01.2014
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 07.01.2014