Early day motion 907

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the issues faced by those in the UK who identify themselves as non-gender, bi-gender or intersex; believes that many of those who are non-gendered or bi-gendered feel compromised and diminished as a result of inappropriate gender references on their personal identity information; acknowledges that all passports issued by HM Passport Office are currently gender-specific and it is therefore not possible to obtain a passport that contains no reference to gendered identity; understands that, alongside F (Female) and M (Male), the International Civil Aviation Organisation's Document 9303 already contains X (unspecified) as a permitted character for three permitted characters under the mandatory sex element for machine-readable travel documents; notes that in Australia and New Zealand citizens are able to obtain a non-gender specific X passport and that India, Nepal and Pakistan also recognise the legitimacy of X as a preferred option when M and F are not appropriate; further believes that allowing this possibility in the UK would go a long way to amend this discriminatory policy which denies non-gendered and bi-gendered people a legitimate identity; and therefore urges the Government and HM Passport Office to make non-gender-specific X passports available to those UK passport holders who do not identify with a particular gender.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 40

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 40 out of 40

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 24.02.2014
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 16.01.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 09.01.2014
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 29.01.2014
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 17.01.2014
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 16.01.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 06.01.2014
Brown, Nicholas Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne East 14.01.2014
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 12.03.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 15.01.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.01.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 13.01.2014
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 05.02.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 13.02.2014
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 13.02.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 08.01.2014
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 06.02.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 24.03.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 07.01.2014
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 13.01.2014
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 25.03.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 07.01.2014
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 24.02.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 06.01.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 13.01.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 13.01.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 22.01.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 14.01.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 08.01.2014
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 13.01.2014
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 30.01.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 30.01.2014
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 04.02.2014
Thornton, Mike Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 08.05.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 08.01.2014
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 27.03.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 22.01.2014
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 26.03.2014
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 08.01.2014
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 13.01.2014