Early day motion 9

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the recent refusal by the Minister for Care and Support of a public inquiry into why information was withheld concerning the disastrous way in which sodium valproate has affected pregnant women and their children; further notes the cost to the public purse of additional health, education and welfare costs incurred by families affected by Fetal Valproate Syndrome; believes that the regulator could have avoided such costs and large numbers of people affected since sodium valproate was licensed and sold from 1973; further believes that its makers, the pharmaceutical company Sanofi, failed in its duty of care and corporate responsibility by not informing the relevant agencies of its teratogenic effects; welcomes the Minister's recent decision to meet representatives of the Independent Fetal Anti-Convulsant Trust; and urges the holding of a public inquiry.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 28

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 28 out of 28

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 08.05.2013
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 03.06.2013
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 03.06.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 13.05.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 15.05.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 20.05.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 20.05.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 10.05.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 21.05.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 13.05.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 18.07.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 13.05.2013
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 13.05.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 14.05.2013
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 03.06.2013
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 15.05.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 09.05.2013
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 13.05.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 15.05.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 15.05.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 11.09.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 09.05.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 14.05.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 04.06.2013
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 21.05.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 09.05.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 13.05.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 09.09.2013