Early day motion 886

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House regrets the announcement of Trinity Mirror that the iconic Liverpool Post newspaper is to close after almost 160 years of publication in the city; notes that the circulation of the title, formerly the Liverpool Daily Post before it went weekly in January 2012, had dropped to 4,000 since this change; expresses its concern for the future of other local news titles that have moved away from daily publication; asks that Trinity Mirror work with the National Union of Journalists on delivering its commitment to avoid redundancies and to invest in its weekend newspaper and digital publishing, so that local journalism in Merseyside can continue to flourish; believes that local news provision is vital to the cultural and democratic life of communities; and therefore calls on the Government to work with the industry, unions and local communities to ensure that such assets are protected.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 23

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 23 out of 23

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Berger, Luciana Labour Party Liverpool Wavertree 16.12.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 18.12.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 19.12.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 18.12.2013
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 06.01.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 18.12.2013
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 16.12.2013
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 17.12.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 19.12.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.12.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 19.12.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 13.01.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.12.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 17.12.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 06.01.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.12.2013
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 17.12.2013
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 17.12.2013
Reevell, Simon Conservative Party Dewsbury 20.01.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 16.12.2013
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 18.12.2013
Twigg, Stephen Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 17.12.2013
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 06.01.2014