Early day motion 844

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House condemns the decision of Newcastle United FC Chairman, Mike Ashley, to withdraw all report facilities for journalists working on the Newcastle Chronicle, Newcastle Journal and Sunday Sun; notes that the denial of access to the St James' Park stadium press box, training ground and interviews with players and manager leaves reporters unable to report on events which are of great interest to the local community; further notes that this follows the temporary banning of a Daily Telegraph reporter by the same club last season and similar actions by Nottingham Forest, Crawley Town, Port Vale and Rotherham United; supports the National Union of Journalists in believing that journalists working for a free press in a democratic society must be able to express themselves as they see fit within the law, without fear of petty and vindictive corporate sanctions; welcomes the broad support that supporters of the club have given to reporters trying to do their professional best in reporting the affairs of football clubs; and therefore calls on the Premier League and Football Association to implement a code of conduct in respect of the treatment of working journalists.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 28

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 28 out of 28

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 04.12.2013
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 09.12.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 04.12.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 04.12.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.12.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 05.12.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 04.12.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 04.12.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 11.12.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 04.12.2013
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 09.12.2013
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 05.12.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 09.12.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 16.12.2013
Greatrex, Tom Labour Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 18.12.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 10.12.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 04.12.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 04.12.2013
McDonald, Andy Labour Party Middlesbrough 04.12.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 04.12.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 04.12.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 04.12.2013
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 04.12.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 05.12.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 04.12.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 04.12.2013
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 04.12.2013
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 04.12.2013