Early day motion 793

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned about the inclusion of investor-to-state dispute settlements in the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP); notes that their inclusion would enable foreign investors to file complaints against a national government whenever investors perceive a violation of their rights and that these complaints are filed directly to international arbitration tribunals and completely bypass national courts and the judicial system; believes there is a real risk that these provisions in the TTIP could overturn years of laws and regulations agreed by democratic institutions on social, environmental and small business policy on both sides of the Atlantic and is of the view that the Government's assertions about the economic benefits of the trade deal are questionable; further believes that any transatlantic partnership implies a relationship based on mutual trust, respect and shared values, something that the ongoing revelations about US secret services' surveillance of EU citizens and public representatives up to the highest level has shown to be gravely lacking; therefore calls for investor-to-state dispute settlements to be removed from the TTIP; and further calls on the Government to push for talks on the partnership agreement to be frozen immediately, in order to allow for a full public debate and Parliamentary scrutiny from both Houses of Parliament with a view to establishing whether full transparency and fundamental EU rights and rules can be guaranteed.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 38

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 38 out of 38

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 11.03.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 27.11.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 17.03.2014
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 18.12.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.10.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 11.12.2013
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 05.02.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 03.12.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 28.11.2013
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 02.12.2013
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 16.12.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 28.11.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 13.01.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 07.05.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 16.12.2013
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 09.12.2013
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 16.12.2013
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 03.03.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 27.11.2013
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 27.03.2014
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 02.04.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 04.12.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 05.12.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 26.11.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 03.12.2013
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 10.12.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 27.11.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 03.02.2014
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 05.02.2014
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 17.12.2013
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 25.02.2014
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 08.04.2014
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 09.01.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 05.12.2013
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 24.02.2014
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 04.12.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 13.01.2014
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 16.12.2013