Early day motion 746

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses its condolences to the family and friends of small-scale campesino farmer and community leader César García, who was gunned down in Cajamarca, Colombia, on 2 November 2013; notes that César was a leading figure in the campaign against the London-listed AngloGold Ashanti La Colosa open pit gold mining project, which many fear will have devastating environmental, social and economic consequences in the region; further expresses its condolences to the family and friends of Adelinda Gómez Gaviria, assassinated on 30 September 2013 in Almaguer, Colombia, in front of her 16 year-old son who was also injured in the attack; further notes that Adelinda was an active campaigner against mining in an area where AngloGold Ashanti has important business interests; further expresses concern about these crimes; calls on the Colombian authorities to carry out prompt, rigorous and independent investigations to identify the perpetrators of these crimes; and requests that other community leaders and environmental campaigners receive adequate protection so that they can peacefully exercise their democratic rights.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 18.11.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 27.11.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 20.11.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 26.11.2013
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 02.12.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 18.11.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 04.12.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 02.12.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 19.11.2013
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 19.12.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.11.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 18.11.2013
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 20.11.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 20.11.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 19.11.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 19.11.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 25.11.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 19.11.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 02.12.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 20.11.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 09.12.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 22.11.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 18.11.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 28.11.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 19.11.2013
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 29.11.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 27.11.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 19.11.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 25.11.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 19.11.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 20.11.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 27.11.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 21.11.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 02.12.2013
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 28.11.2013
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 25.11.2013